WSL Green Alert UPDATE: BWT Pe’ahi Challenge Starts Friday 

November 10, 2016 • WSL

The start time for the Pe’ahi Challenge, a World Surf League (WSL) Big Wave Tour (BWT) event, has been updated to 7am (local time) on Friday, November 11, 2016, when a projected 30-foot swell is expected to arrive at the world-famous big wave break on Maui’s North Shore. “To run WSL Big Wave events, we require swells and storm systems of immense size and energy,” said Peter Mel, WSL BWT Commissioner. “These are dynamic entities that change frequently. We have been monitoring this system very closely and have determined to focus the entire event for Friday morning where we will have the biggest and best conditions. We’re really fired up to see the men and women out here this year.”

Jaws, Hawaii

Albee Layer at Jaws, where the 2016 Pe’ahi Challenge will take place on Friday, November 11th.

The Pe’ahi Challenge will be contested by 24 men, led by current rankings’ leader Grant Baker (ZAF), reigning BWT Champion Greg Long (USA), and defending event winner Billy Kemper (HAW).

For the first time in WSL Big Wave Tour history, the world’s best female big wave surfers will compete at Pe’ahi with 12 individuals vying for the maiden women’s title.

To apply for media accreditation for the event please complete the online form HERE.

The Pe’ahi Challenge will be webcast LIVE at and on the WSL app.

The 2016/17 BWT season is divided into Southern Hemisphere and Northern Hemisphere components hosting three possible events within each. The Southern Hemisphere window ran from April 27 to August 31, 2016 with event options in Mexico, Chile and Peru. The Puerto Escondido Challenge was the only event to run and saw Baker claim victory. The Northern Hemisphere window runs from October 15, 2016 to February 28, 2017 with event options in Portugal, Hawaii and Mexico.

For more information, log onto

Pe’ahi Challenge Men’s Field:
– Greg Long (USA)
– Makuakai Rothman (HAW)
– Billy Kemper (HAW)
– Nic Lamb (USA)
– Josh Kerr (AUS)
– Albee Layer (HAW)
– Carlos Burle (BRA)
– Damien Hobgood (USA)
– Cristian Merello (CHL)
– Mark Healey (HAW)
– Grant Baker (ZAF)

Performer of the year BWA Invites:
– Shane Dorian (HAW)
– Jamie Mitchell (AUS)
– Aaron Gold (HAW)
– Kai Lenny (HAW)

WSL Wildcards:

Pe’ahi Event Wildcards:
– Ian Walsh (HAW)
– Shaun Walsh (HAW)
– Tyler Larronde (HAW)
– Yuri Soledade (HAW)
– Dege O’Connell (HAW)
– Francisco Porcella (ITA)

Pe’ahi Challenge Women’s Field:
– Keala Kennelly (HAW)
– Paige Alms (HAW)
– Andrea Moller (HAW)
– Bianca Valenti (USA)
– Emily Erickson (USA)
– Savannah Shaugnessy (USA)
– Justine Dupont  (FRA)
– Jamilah Starr (USA)
– Maya Gabeira (BRA)
– Sylvia Nabuco (BRA)
– Laura Enever (AUS)
– Wrenna Delgado (HAW)

Tags: , , , ,